Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
therealrobertino
    Thu Nov 30, 2017 3:27 am

Hi guys,
my name is Robert and I am glad to be part of this new forum. Please forgive my not so good english :-)

I am very new to welding but after viewing Jodie's videos (thanks Jody :-) ) I did run and bought a Tig Welder (Mastrotig 216 from DECA that is an Italian brand).

Now here my questions.
As I am very scared about radioactivity and of course I skipped the Thorium Electrode and ordered the 2% Lanthaned one. On Wikipedia I red that Lanthan exisist also as radioacative isotop. So my first question is:
Is the 2% Lanthaned electrode radioactive...maybe a little bit ? Or is the answer a clear "It's not radioactive at all".
Did you ever test it ? I tried to find on internet some reply but there was nothing about it.

The second question is: if there is even a small doubt of radioactivity (or maybe contamination with thorium), I would try to weld steel (iron) with the pure electrode. Do you think that this is possibile at all ? I know that it is used mostly for alluminum, but would it work on steel ? Why would it not work ? I don't have a problem if the life of the electrode is shorter. Or are there other problems ?

It might be that my questions seem to be a bit silly but I would really now what you think about.

Thanks a lot

Best regards

Robert
Farmwelding
    Thu Mar 10, 2016 11:37 pm

Welcome aboard mate! Usually there is no inherent risk due to the lack of volume of the radioactive material. If it was truly dangerous, some government organization would have added more safety for it or eliminated it. I can not answer about the pure tungsten myself but I am sure others can.
A student now but really want to weld everyday. Want to learn everything about everything. Want to become a knower of all and master of none.
Instagram: @farmwelding
Nick
MarkL
    Wed Jun 15, 2016 7:09 pm