Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
floridaedd
    Sat Dec 02, 2017 3:45 pm

I'm new to the forum and could really use some information.
A little about me. I've play welded for years. By that I mean I'm a guy with a welder not a welder. I can weld good enough to do my own stuff but would never do anyone else's.
I have a Lincoln Pro mig 175 I used for years and I managed to short the PCB in it.
I have a Lincoln Inverted V300 pro I've only ever used for stick welding. Im now curious about using it for TIG.
Be warned my questions may be worded wrong and may have very basic answers , so please bear with me.
I have a Hi Freq 250 amp Lincoln box. Would I use this with the Invertec to control gas and spark? Or would I just hook my torch up to the Invertec and control the gas by using the knob on the torch handle? I also have an Idle arc 225 if that matters.
I have everything ,gas,touch leads ect I just lack what I assume is basic knowledge.
I do appreciate any input u guys could give me.
Thanks Edd
    Sun Oct 27, 2013 10:57 pm

No spark box needed on invertec.

But you do need a switch or foot control to start the arc.

Or do what I did on mine, set it to stick soft, zero on dig, and scratch start the arc.
Dave J.

Beware of false knowledge; it is more dangerous than ignorance. ~George Bernard Shaw~

Syncro 350
Invertec v250-s
Thermal Arc 161 and 300
MM210
Dialarc
Tried being normal once, didn't take....I think it was a Tuesday.
floridaedd

Thank you for taking the time to respond.

So I would set the type of welding knob to the "soft stick" setting ? Im not sure what the "dig" is. Is that the gas knob on the tourch?
I would like to get a foot control for it. Until then could I used the Hi Freq box for the pilot arc function to not have to scratch start it?
Or would I just wire the switch on my touch to the "remote" plug on the back,once I get a plug for it?