Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
jerje
    Sat Nov 11, 2017 12:16 pm

I've bought a Lincoln Square Wave Tig 200 and plan to teach myself how to tig with the help of Jody's videos and posts on this and the welding web forums. I've been welding for over 30 years with a 220 stick and cheap Sears mig, but never done tig. I'm a hobby welder not a professional but over the years I've made welding carts, tables, modified trailers, made a car body rotisserie, fixed frames, made racks/shelving, etc. etc. I got the tig primarily to repair aluminum carburetor bodies and intake manifolds with but I like to make stuff so I'm sure this will go beyond just doing that as I learn how to do it.

I'm posing the following questions because I would just as soon learn with the same hardware I will use once I learn how to do it, and would like to avoid wasting time and money trying this and that as I learn, and end up with left over components that I then need to try to sell or give away. So...

- would it be a good thing for me to get, say, an HTP Artic Chill 5460 to put on my SW 200? And a ck20-12sf fx torch to go with it? Or just plan on using the air cooled #17 torch that came with the thing? It may be that the duty cycle on the SW 200 will never require a water cooled torch, I don't know?

- Jody really likes stubby gas lenses so is this something I should get and start using as I learn?

- Then there is another type of lense thing I saw Jody use recently but now can't find it in his store. It enabled him to have a 3/4" or 1" stickout of the tig electrode which would be helpful to me in repairing intake manifolds I'm thinking. What was this lense does anyone remember? I did see a Furick lense but you can't use them on ac current I think I read so no good on aluminum, right?