Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
needlenose
    Mon Jan 15, 2018 3:23 pm

Complete tig newbie here. I just got my first tig machine and I'm about 2 hours into learning how to actually use it. I'm having a consistent problem with a small ring of ash(?) building up about halfway up the taper. I'm pretty sure I'm not dipping; I spent the first hour or so teaching myself very diligently how to dip the tungsten with remarkable consistency. But this looks different. It starts very faint, then gets heavier and heavier. After a while I begin to get a secondary "halo" over my arc.

Any ideas what is causing this? How to prevent it?

AHP AlphaTig 200x
3/32 purple
1/16" ER70-S
100% Argon
1/8" mild steel
DC with no tricks or features

Thanks!
Attachments
Settings.jpg
Settings.jpg (52.72 KiB) Viewed 1166 times
Welds.jpg
Welds.jpg (56.61 KiB) Viewed 1166 times
Tungsten.jpg
Tungsten.jpg (17.92 KiB) Viewed 1166 times
Coldman
    Mon Dec 15, 2014 2:16 am

You don’t say what your current and gas flow settings are.
I suspect increasing your gas flow and postflow to 9 seconds will solve your problem.

Sent using Tapatalk
Flat out like a lizard drinkin'
mechanic416
    Fri Jan 12, 2018 7:16 pm

From what I see it could be you need more gas flow say 15cfh/7lpm or you need to clean the metal better. By what I mean by cleaning the metal, I can see you ground off most of the rust on top but you are welding close to the edge were it was not cleaned.

Tig needs very clean metal for good clean welds.

Your post flow should be about 5 to 7 seconds, just so your tungsten stays light gray. If its getting dark almost black you need more post flow to shield the tungsten and weld as it cools down.
needlenose
    Mon Jan 15, 2018 3:23 pm

Thanks guys! That's exactly what is happening; the tungsten is turning black. Right now I have 0 post flow, so I will increase it.