Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
rb0087
    Wed Jan 24, 2018 6:44 pm

Hi everyone, I’m just getting started with welding, and I’m looking for some more experienced eyes to take a look at what I’m planning to do and give some advice and/or keep me from doing something stupid before I learn the hard way. I’m hoping to solve some pretty severe rust problems on my car (04 Cadillac CTS-V), starting with the rear upper spring mount, which is rusting away to nothing. I have access to a really nice TIG welder at work (Miller Dynasty 350), which I’ve been using to learn. After a few weeks of staying after work a couple hours each day to practice, I’m getting the hang of TIG welding, but haven’t done anything high stakes yet. I don’t have access to a MIG welder, which I know is typically the tool of choice for this sort of job.
Here are a few pictures of the problem area on my car. The upper spring mounts just acted as buckets to hold a bunch of salt, dirt, and moisture for the last 14 years, with predictable results. The frame is totally rusted through on the bottom/sides, as is the mount itself on the front half, with only the rubber spring pad covering the spring up.
rust1.jpg
rust1.jpg (39.24 KiB) Viewed 767 times
rust2.jpg
rust2.jpg (69.15 KiB) Viewed 767 times
rust3.jpg
rust3.jpg (73.51 KiB) Viewed 767 times
So I went to the junkyard and cut out some good replacements from a car that didn’t have as rough of a life (until it got T-boned and totalled). The spring mounts were spot welded in eight places, and I cut out the spot welds to separate the spring mount from the rail section. The steel is ~0.1” thick, in some places double that where it is lapped together. Based on spark testing it seems to be mild or possibly low alloy steel.
newMetal1.jpg
newMetal1.jpg (43.5 KiB) Viewed 767 times
newMetal2.jpg
newMetal2.jpg (35.56 KiB) Viewed 767 times
newMetal3.jpg