Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
gravelsandwich
    Wed Jan 24, 2018 3:32 am

Hi,
I've never tried Tig welding before but i'm about to jump in and have a go. My budget is up to around $1500 for a new acdc machine and so far my preference is the Lincoln Powercraft 201 for $1600. Does anybody have any experience with this Tig as there is very little user info or videos on it? It must be a fairly new model but I figure because it's a Lincoln it can't be to bad.

Another consideration is i live in an Aussie regional town and would prefer to buy local instead of ordering a welder delivered from somewhere else in case i have a problem.
Other Tigs i've looked at i can buy local are:
Unimig Razorweld 200........$1200
Wia 200i.........................$1300

Any thoughts appreciated,
Thanks.......
    Fri Apr 01, 2011 10:59 pm

Tokentools have a very good range of tig welders. You may pay a little more but I have not heard anything bad about them, as I have with some of the other ones you mentioned
aroberson77
    Sun Oct 22, 2017 5:59 pm

The razorweld units have decent reviews too. Maybe look for a nice used machine too.

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
Coldman
    Mon Dec 15, 2014 2:16 am

WIA have an extensive authorised repairer network which you can see on their website and identify if you have local support. This may help your decision process. The 200i is a good power source and likely to do everything you want to do.

Sent using Tapatalk
Flat out like a lizard drinkin'
Artie F. Emm
    Thu Jul 24, 2014 7:53 am

You may want to hold some of your budget in reserve to buy consumables and argon, too.
Dave
aka "RTFM"
gravelsandwich
    Wed Jan 24, 2018 3:32 am