Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
taybo2469
    Thu Feb 01, 2018 1:47 pm

Please bare with me as I am very new to the Tig world. I have been reading as much as I can, but ti seems that everyone has their own way of setting up their machine.

I have just purchased an HTP 221 Tig and have been practicing on some 5052 1/8 aluminum. Mainly just running some beads and getting used to have it all works. I recently got some 6061 .090 thick aluminum to make a small square pan out of just for practice, however, this is where I started having issues. I stared with 3/32 2% Lanthinated and was using some 1/16 4043 filler rod. Everytime I tried to run a fillet pass the filler only wanted to stick to one piece of the aluminum.
My Machine settings were AC, 60Amps, 15cfh Argon, AC Balance is set to 65. As for the AC Frequency, I don't remember off the top of my head.

At any rate can you give some suggestions on what settings would be a good starting point for welding this 6061. I believe I am getting to confused with all the different settings.

Any help and/or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
cj737
    Thu Sep 29, 2016 8:59 am

Your amps are too low for the 0.090 material. And welding aluminum is tricky. The standard formula for welding steel is 1 amp per thousandth of material thickness, up to 1/8". That is not the case with aluminum.

Initially, I'd set the machine to 130-150 amps, get your puddle established on both pieces by pointing your torch into the V, then you can taper off your heat with the pedal. I would also encourage you to bump up to 3/32 filler. Filling a fillet with 1/16 is more tricky because you will tend to get a "hollow root" with thin filler wire (a weld that ties both sides in, but has a rabbit hole running down the joint due to lack of filler).