Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
jime46
    Mon Oct 05, 2009 10:56 am

I'm restoring a '53 Jaguar and am doing a repair on the hood (they call it a bonnet, but I'm and American so I call it a hood). The lower front opening for the grill is in really bad shape so I'm building a replacement panel for that area. I'm using .060 5052 aluminum and I'm having a terrible time with the welding. I'm not a professional welder, but I've done quite a bit over the years and this one is driving me crazy.

I scoured the pieces with ScotchBrite, then cleaned with acetone, but when I started the weld it looks just horrible. The arc is scattering all over the work, and the pieces blow up black. I continued, and I either blew through the part, or the weld puddles into a big blob. But I continued laying down this mess, then all of a sudden everything calmed down and I ran a perfect bead (at least perfect for me) the rest of the way. I then ground off the nasty first half of the weld and ran a new bead over it. That one went down OK also.

My concern is that I can get away with this type of problem making the repair piece, but when it's time to weld it onto the hood I can't have that happen. That hood costs about $5,000 to replace (if I can even find one) so I need to do it right the first time.

I'm sure I have some sort of contamination, but what?

My specifications are:
Miller Diversion 165
60 Amp
Argon-20CFM
3/32 2% lanthanated
Gas lens
Used both 1/16 and 3/32 filler rod. Same problem with both, but was using the 3/32 when it straightened out.
    Sun Oct 27, 2013 10:57 pm

When you did your practice runs on test pieces in the same orientation, did you have the same problem?
Dave J.

Beware of false knowledge; it is more dangerous than ignorance. ~George Bernard Shaw~

Syncro 350
Invertec v250-s
Thermal Arc 161 and 300
MM210
Dialarc