Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
Jacobsteele15
    Tue Mar 13, 2018 6:14 pm

So I bought a new Lincoln Square wave tig 200. Working great in steel. Trying to do aluminum and I can’t get that perfect bead. Tack’s are nasty. Just won’t flow out right. Called Lincoln they had no answers
I’m using the torch it came with tried E3, 2% lanthinated, 1.5% lanthinated, 2% thoriated, pure. Played with all the frequencies and cleaning percentages. Using 4043 filler. Welding 1/8” 3003 100% argon. 2% lanthinated has been the best results but still not good. The beads lay out half way decent on flat plate but go to do and edge joint or fillet and looks like crap This is my first inverter so I’m new to it. Been tigging for years. But now I look like the newbie again. What am I doing wrong
    Sun Oct 27, 2013 10:57 pm

Too many generalities without specifics.

If I may suggest. Post a pic and include all information for that weld.
Cup size, stick out, tungsten type and size, argon flow, amps, frequency, balance, position it was welded in, anything else you think of.
Dave J.

Beware of false knowledge; it is more dangerous than ignorance. ~George Bernard Shaw~

Syncro 350
Invertec v250-s
Thermal Arc 161 and 300
MM210
Dialarc
Tried being normal once, didn't take....I think it was a Tuesday.
cj737
    Thu Sep 29, 2016 8:59 am

If flat works well, but your fillets and edges don't, then I suspect torch distance and gas flow issues, especially on the edges.

When you weld an outside edge, the argon is split and has no backstop to aid in shielding. If you can, clamp some material perpendicular to the surfaces just outside the edge to create an argon "dam" and you might see some improvement.