Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
nik
  • nik
    Fri Jun 10, 2011 2:50 pm

First I will state I am no professional welder, just a passionate hobbyist; and self taught/teaching to make it more fun:)

I bought a lincoln Tig175 and started learning on Aluminun. Got fairly decent. Then Decided that using a Gas Lense might help me. Now here is the part that has me messed up. I started using the Gas Lense with a 3/32 electrode. Verified all gas flow and amp settings for the pieces I was testing on... and could not weld shit. Troubled, I returned to the setup and rechecked everything. It was almost like the gas was not flowing, although I could here it and it did not sound any different. Still could not weld shit. For a better definition of this I get massively unstable arc and can not get any form of a pool.

So I stepped back and thought about it, and decided I will try a smaller electrode. moved down to 1/16 and everything started working, not well but workable. I then moved to 1/8 and again it would not work.

As I am typing this the thought comes to mind that perhaps the two gas lenses I have for the 3/32 and 1/8 tungsten are messed up? They were purchased new as a set... but I will admit that means nothing...

One of the reasons I am trying the gas lense was in hopes it would help me in corder welds.

Any insight would be greatly appreciated.
    Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:40 pm

What is your gas flow? A gas lens works at rates as low as 5 CFH in calm air.

Can you trust your flowmeter? Someone recently had a problem with a failed flowmeter.

Are you actually using a flowmeter? Or a Hi-Lo regulator combo? Too much flow will cause as many problems as inadequate flow.