Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
jordanjw
    Wed Jul 13, 2011 11:07 pm

Hey,

machinist by trade by like to weld also. I will be building a new alum gas tank for my friends boat. could you give me some tech help on material selection for this app (5/32 thk), filler rod series and diameter. Tungsten diameter for this material thickness. Also some tip on joint design as the tank will be all welded and no bends. Know of any basic books on gas tank design for boats.

Thanks
Joe
jordanjw

no takers?
    Fri Feb 12, 2010 10:48 am

I would use a 5052 base metal with a 3/32 5356 filler metal and a 3/32 electrode. I would use a corner to corner joint design so there is 100% weld penetration. I would also consult a book for design and find out what the specifications are for a fuel tank. Not to be stupid or anything but there is a lot more to building one of these things than you may think. Good luck. Hope that helps. Anybody else got any input. I know there are some aluminum boat welders/fabricators in this forum.
Jim
Pipefitter/Weldor out of Local 396
Millermatic 252
Dynasty 200DX
Maxstar 150 STL
Spoolmate 100
Hypertherm Powermax 85
Miller Digital Elite
JD2 Model 32 Bender
Emerson 7120 Horizontal/Vertical Bandsaw
Oxy-Gas Torch outfit
Generac XP8000E Generator
kermdawg
    Tue May 25, 2010 8:16 pm

Can you use bladders in marine tanks like they do in fuel cells?
Signature? Who needs a F***ing signature?
jordanjw

Hey