Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
silentneko
    Sat Aug 24, 2013 6:01 pm

Hey guys, after years of wanting one I finally broke down and got a welder. I bought the Everlast PowerTig 185. Seems like a cool little machine and it came with the foot pedal.

So I've been playing with it after watching some youtube vids. I started with stick welding and think I got decent penetration and beads using 6013 sticks. Problem is I'm stuck to 110v for now so anything over 70 amps blows the breaker.

After getting my argon tank I started playing with the TIG. Again I'm limited to 70-75amps for now. I'm using 3/32" 2% red tungsten with a flow rate of about 15lpm on a #17 torch with a #5 cup. My control is crap, lol.

The main reason I got it is I need to weld some washers/spacers on my trailer next week. The frame is about 1/8" thick, and the washers are maybe 1/16". So my questions are:

Can I do this with just 70 amps?
Is TIG the way, or should i stick with stick on this one?
What shade do you recommend for a helmet? I'm using 9 now.
Any suggestions when welding 2 different thicknesses?

Here's some picks of me trying it out for the first time.

Stick (1/16" 6013 @ 70 amps)
20200118_163901.jpg
20200118_163901.jpg (66.49 KiB) Viewed 990 times
TIG (70 amps) right is early to the left is after playing a bit. Ignore the washer, I was just seeing what would happen.
20200118_163909.jpg
20200118_163909.jpg (64.71 KiB) Viewed 990 times
tweake
    Mon Dec 18, 2017 4:53 am

silentneko wrote:Hey guys, after years of wanting one I finally broke down and got a welder. I bought the Everlast PowerTig 185. Seems like a cool little machine and it came with the foot pedal.