Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
Bernard
    Mon Feb 17, 2020 1:10 pm

I am a beginner at welding. I have managed some ok welds in steel but cannot even get started with aluminium.

I have a basic AC/DC 200ST IGBT made by Stahlwerk

I cannot manage to strike a stable arc and get a weld pool.
I have a 2.4mm 2% Ceriated Tungsten (grey)
I have tried current ranging from 34A to 100A
I have tried balance set to zero = 70 - 30 and also at the extremes +5 & -5.
Filler is 2.4mm 4036
Argon gas at 8 l/m
Size 7 cup

Results look like this. What am I doing wrong?
20200217_165457.jpg
20200217_165457.jpg (68.6 KiB) Viewed 4630 times
Electrode starts like this
20200217_165457.jpg
Finishes like this
20200217_165457.jpg
Machine
20200217_165457.jpg
Attachments
20200217_165512.jpg
20200217_165512.jpg (66.29 KiB) Viewed 4630 times
20200217_165815.jpg
20200217_165815.jpg (29.52 KiB) Viewed 4630 times
20200217_170101.jpg
20200217_170101.jpg (31.72 KiB) Viewed 4630 times
Poland308
    Thu Sep 10, 2015 8:45 pm

How thick is the base metal, and how large are the coupons. IE surface area. Aluminum is notorious for absorbing heat. 100 amps may not have been enough.

Edit
From the pictures it looks like you may have a gas issue.
I have more questions than answers

Josh
Mac's Crew
    Fri Jan 31, 2020 7:02 pm

I agree... with the gas issue... that looks like a #6 cup... I would double your gas see if that helps.

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk
I haven't built anything I can't throw away yet.
Mac's Crew
    Fri Jan 31, 2020 7:02 pm

Edit... you said it was #7. But I use the rule of 2 x cup size for a base.

I haven't built anything I can't throw away yet.
    Thu Dec 26, 2013 12:41 am

Mac's Crew wrote:Edit... you said it was #7. But I use the rule of 2 x cup size for a base.

That's when you are looking at CFH. For L/min it's roughly the same as the cup size.

OP: