Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
JamieFred
    Fri Nov 20, 2020 9:50 am

Hey All

I am new to the forum and new to tig welding but doing ok. I am just starting out on aluminum with my 2018 AlphaTig 200X, using E3 3/32 tungsten also 2% Thoriated 3/32, 25% cleaning, 60hz and I am noticing that the tungsten is getting weirdly contaminated. Please take a look at the shaft and tip. Could someone help me understand what might be going on?
Attachments
3.jpg
3.jpg (58.54 KiB) Viewed 2356 times
2.jpg
2.jpg (40.69 KiB) Viewed 2356 times
1.jpg
1.jpg (35.47 KiB) Viewed 2356 times
    Fri Apr 01, 2011 10:59 pm

Hi and welcome.

This could be as simple as too short of a post flow of argon. It should be about 10 seconds. Or it could be some moisture in the gas. To eliminate this, try another gas cylinder. You can also make an in line moisture trap with a desiccant material.
G-ManBart
    Sat Aug 01, 2020 11:24 am

I'm not an expert, but a couple of things come to mind. First off, you don't want to use 2% thoriated on AC aluminum. With your machine a good general rule would be to stick to 2% lanthanated or one of the E3 type blends (usually purple or lime green colors) for AC aluminum. There are others that will work, but I think it makes sense to keep things simple in the beginning. In fact, 2% lanthanated is probably more forgiving compared to the E3 style blends which excels in robotic applications with essentially perfect parameters.

Second, as already mentioned, make sure you've got enough post flow. Is the problem happening with both kinds of tungsten? What sort of amperage were you running?