Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
lr172
    Sun Jan 03, 2021 1:13 pm

I am still new to Tig and not quite ready to start practicing on Al yet. However, I have an application that I would like to start practicing for. I would like to weld a 1/16" wall alum tube onto a 1/2" alum plate, I could either make this a standard T joint or create a socket for the tube. The 1/2" plate will effectively be 1/2 X 1/2 x 1/2 round, so not a massive heat sink.

Is this a realistic project for a beginner Tig welder? I suspect it could be difficult to manage the heat between the two very different thicknesses. I have 225 amps on my machine.

Strength requirements are low, so could also use brazing, but my limited research indicates that may be more difficult. I do not have an O/A rig.

Thanks for your insight here.
BugHunter
    Sun Apr 19, 2020 12:54 pm

That's gonna be super challenging.

A) Not sure the welder is gonna have enough snot to do it.

B) Gonna need a hefty tungsten, don't even bother with 3/32. 1/8" minimum.

C) 100% of the heat MUST go into the 1/2" plate. It's gonna be tough to even get a weld pool started with 225A. Don't even think about pointing at the tubing, keep the arc on the plate. Just the stray heat will be enough to wet the tubing, especially just an end of it.

D) Preheat on the plate is mandatory. Might also consider some of the welding mud around the tubing in order to bleed heat out. Maybe someone here will say if wet rags would work. That 16ga tubing is gonna disappear if you get near it with 200A+.