Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
AkhiMertail
    Thu Jun 10, 2021 2:35 pm

Hey welders! Love your work. I'm a millwright with 15 years experience, but I've mostly done hydraulics, pipe fitting/bending and general machine troubleshooting. Up till now I've always just called in a pro to weld when I need something but now I need to be able to weld my own projects. With the pandemic it has been harder to get welders to come into our shop and I want to step up and fill that role. My shop has a TIG welding machine but I I don't know how to use it. I'm a shit MIG welder and I'm even worse with stick. Can you helpful people help me learn TIG first? I'd appreciate any tips or links. Thank you!
cj737
    Thu Sep 29, 2016 8:59 am

If you can't Stick or MIG weld, TIG is beyond your reach as it incorporates EVERYTHING the other two processes utilize plus.

The best thing to do is to practice and learn Stick. Watch YT videos and practice, practice, practice until you are reasonably competent. Then, you can undertake TIG because the principles and mechanics of what you need to do will make sense and be available in your muscle memory.

It is the VERY RARE individual that can be self-taught TIG without being able to do the others.
tweake
    Mon Dec 18, 2017 4:53 am

as above.

fortunately a lot of tig welding machines have a stick function tho it may be very basic.
stick forces you to learn how to weld and all that carries over into tig.

i'm self taught and its not an easy way to do it. it takes 10 times longer to learn anything. learning tig is hard enough after learning stick, let alone trying to do straight off.
tweak it until it breaks
Toggatug
    Sat Mar 25, 2017 12:06 pm

Its hard but not impossible if you've got the time to practice.