Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
Wells
    Tue Jun 22, 2021 9:34 pm

Hi,

I’m planning on getting a CK #20 torch and I’m trying to decide whether or not to get a flex head or rigid. I am not looking for the overall merits of each option; I am fine with rigid but I think a flex head may be a handy enhancement. What I am asking is if, and how, they change over time. My experience with gooseneck mechanisms in general is that they loosen and lose the ability to stay where you put them. I don’t think I’d like it if setting my torch head involved a bunch of spring-back, or if it slowly drifted out of position.

Any experiences good or bad with flex heads after lots of use?

Thanks, wells
Spartan
    Fri Mar 06, 2020 8:59 pm

I've been running two of the CK20 flex heads for going on two years now. I love them and have experienced no issues, changes, or degradation in performance. The heads flex the same today as when they were bought new. If it is slightly looser, it's not enough that I can tell...meaning it's in no way an issue. But it's possible that they have broken in a bit over time. I highly recommend them.

And FWIW, I've noticed a pattern concerning people that complain about their flex heads failing. They all tend to be using no-name junk torch heads from overseas. You get what you pay for.
G-ManBart
    Sat Aug 01, 2020 11:24 am

I've been using one of my CK flex heads for a couple of years and it feels the same now as when I got it. They aren't really like most other flexible neck things out there. They actually take more force to position than you might expect so having them flop around is very unlikely.