Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
    Wed May 27, 2020 7:43 pm

I've been practicing my TIG welding for a few months now and am starting to lay down some passable beads on 1/8" thick or better steel. Recently I've been playing with the pulse settings while trying to weld some .05" wall rectangular tubing with fair results. HOWEVER, when I go from welding parts clamped down to the Fab table to trying to weld something freestanding (in this case a set of stairs) it all goes to hell in a hand basket. So, I was wondering if you could do a video or three on how to weld "off the table", or something not clamped down; or at the least had a few tips.

Thanks
tweake
    Mon Dec 18, 2017 4:53 am

might pay to put a pic up of where it its turns to hell.
a lot of the time its because your not comfortable. as jodi says, ABC always be comfortable. trying to force your body to stay still using muscles usually ends up with you shaking which screws up the weld.
tweak it until it breaks
Gdarc21
    Wed Aug 04, 2021 6:44 am

Hi Tim,
are you welding new builds or pre existing. there is a substantial difference in clean between them.
are you assembling the parts, or are you sure its been cleaned, not just in the weld area but where it will peno aswell.
I personally think it matters where you clamp your earth, closer the better. site work can effect gas flows due to crossbreezes etc that you might not have on bench maybe. turn gas up a little may help.
I have never had to tig tackweld stairs but it should be same as for any other process, except way slower.
what part are you have issues with exactly? the out of pos welding, assembly or just the welding.
unless the designs are yours or your clients intellectual property, pictures of the project would be cool.
cheers mate.
    Wed Jan 22, 2014 12:00 am