Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
Kodokan
    Thu Nov 04, 2021 2:05 am

Not trying to be a smart-ass. :mrgreen:

I've read that it can take years of practice to become a master of making beautiful dimestacks. I haven't started welding, yet. Just getting my gear and taking a look.

Since I may not have much time, I'd like to get on the fast track. Good news is, I'll be working with a limited number of metal types and thicknesses. I'll never need to make a root weld. No O/A, stick, and almost no MIG.

When my new torch (Lincoln PTA-17) arrived, it seems like I would need assorted or adjustable props to get the torch into the right position. Right away, I can see the advantage of a flexible head torch, so I got a Miller 90 degree 17F.

So, I'm holding the torch and do a little (air) welding motion. It's clear that there's a learning curve for the coordination of both hands. Reminds me of patting my head and rubbing my belly as a kid. Plus, the foot pedal action.

I'm guessing that the machine/flow settings, and choice of tungsten and filler wire, aren't the difficult part of TIG welding. Looks like the ability to perform with machine-like coordination is what takes so long.

At the moment, I'm more interested in working on coordination and dexterity than melting metal. Until I have the basic movements down, it could just be a big waste of materials.

For now, I'm going to bring the folding table in the house and work on my air welding technique. I'm designing my own tool (paper printout) to improve rhythm, speed, and accuracy.

Am I on the right track? Suggestions are welcome.
    Thu Dec 26, 2013 12:41 am