Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
zeb
  • zeb
    Thu Dec 29, 2011 7:41 pm

I'm new to tig welding aluminum, been welding in DC for couple of years. Now we have a new Kemppi Mastertig 2300 AC/DC tig in our company and started learning how to weld aluminum. I've read all about tig welding aluminum on Jody's excellent site and watched many videos.

So far I've managed to weld on plain aluminum plate and can get the stack of dimes appearance easily. Forming the puddle and feeding the rod is OK. No problem in there. Now I started butt welding two pieces of aluminum together and the difficulty of welding aluminum hit me like a thunder. Prior to welding I carefully cleaned both al plates with a stainless brush and cleaned with acetone. I have big difficulty in starting the weld and in tack welding two pieces together. Material I'm using is 1/8" thick, 4043 filler and 15cfh flow of argon. I'm welding with about 70A current (varied the current also from 60 to 90). AC frequency is 100 squarewave and tried also different balance settings without luck. The problem is that the arc wonders in between these two plates and does not stay in the middle which is actually very easy to do when welding stainless - or I have never observed any difficulty. Pushing rod to this "melted aluminum" part ( in between two plates) results as the rod forming black staff and it just does not work. Every now and then tagging works ok but more often result is very bad. I can see that there is no clear melted part of aluminum in both plates where I can push the rod and this is driving me nuts.

Any ideas how I can solve this problem?
    Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:40 pm

Crank that power up!!!

Half your power (when balanced) is flowing in the wrong direction for heating the Aluminum.