Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
TBucket32
    Wed Jan 26, 2022 8:40 pm

I'd like to preface this post by saying that I'm a mechanical engineer, not a welder. But I have been around a lot of tig welding and have even designed 2 automated orbital tig welding heads for the nuclear world.

At home, I have a chinese multi process machine. It runs flux core better than any machine I've ever used before and burns 6013 nicely (it doesn't like 6011 though). I finally broke down and bought a bottle of argon and some Midwest Tungsten 3/32 E3 tungsten to try my hand at tig (the machine is DC lift start only).

I've sharpened 5 of the Tungsten. The first Tungsten works awesome, 3 refuse to light at all and the 5th will light 75% of the time. I have tested these 5 repeatedly and the same 3 refuse to light. Any ideas?? Bad batch of Tungsten?

Ps. The weld engineers at work are really impressed with my skills given my VERY limited hood time with tig and my very cheap machine. I'm pretty proud of my welds so far.
BillE.Dee
    Mon Nov 27, 2017 8:53 pm

welcome. I don't know why you would want to change tungstens, unless you are saving time from resharpening after dipping or messing a tungsten up somehow. BUT, as long as the ONLY thing you did was to change a tungsten, you should have no problems restarting. Make certain your base material is CLEAN (bare shiny metal), make certain the work (ground) clamp is on the material to be welded. Grind the tungsten longitudinaly . Don't lift too far/fast. Have at it.
TBucket32

Since I'm just learning, I have 5 sharpened because I am still dipping the tungsten. My pedestal grinder with my dedicated wheel are in my shop, but my welder is in the barn, so having spares sharpened saves me a bunch of walking. All tungsten are sharpened the same...longitudinally.