Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
pejochto
    Mon Feb 07, 2022 11:55 am

I am trying to weld some beads with a "Silicon Bronze Rod" but the result is far away from the golden bead videos that you see on youtube. The bead is covered with black oxidation and it doesnt matter how clean the metal is or how much aceton I use to wipe the rod or the metal piece. I get the same result on stainless and on regular steel. When I brush with a steelbrush the bead seems alright (see image below - I am a beginner). I have tried to use different ampere, speed, gasflow, gascups, gaslenses and you name it, I have even bought a new tigtorch if the case was that the Argon gas was, but the result is the same. I cant find anywhere on Internet that sameone has the same experience, this is my final chance to have an explanation of my horrific beads that are black of what I think is oxidation.
A91FDE31-7E94-4274-B55F-6B386B37C9D3.jpeg
A91FDE31-7E94-4274-B55F-6B386B37C9D3.jpeg (381.22 KiB) Viewed 1674 times
cj737
    Thu Sep 29, 2016 8:59 am

With proper amperage and gas coverage, it’s not hard to get good looking welds. It is also not unusual to need to shine them up after welding to remove any discoloration due to welding.

A stainless steel brush is best, gas flow should be 2x cup size, a nice large cup (#8 or better) and use a quality gas lens. Clean your material AND the filler rod before welding.
BeeGee
    Sun Feb 13, 2022 11:11 pm

After you brush it clean does it stay clean?
pejochto

Thats very good news, all the videos I see, they dont tell you that you sometimes or most times need to brush the weld free from oxidation. I will try the settings you suggest and keep on practising. Thanks a lot!
tweake
    Mon Dec 18, 2017 4:53 am