Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
nelson
    Sun Jul 17, 2016 1:21 pm

Hey,
I'll retire soon but need advice on a cheap TIG welder for small home projects. Maybe some of you have some similar needs.
Quick search came up with 200A stick/TIG for under $200 (ug can you say China?).

I can get away with 100A, dont need no pedal, but HF start is really desirable (I'm a machinist, not a welder dammit) AC and balance I'd like but aluminum doesn't like me too much.
If you feel shame answering this, PM me. I understand.

Also, what's the smallest argon tank you've seen?

Thanks for your time!
Stone knives and bearskins.....and a NEW EVERLAST 164SI !!!
That's my newly shared work welder.
At home I got a Power Tig 185 DV. Nice, but no plasma cutting... Nice tight arc after a second.
    Thu Dec 26, 2013 12:41 am

The advice you're asking for is for recommendations for TIG welder? As in what brands?? Seems like you found one suited for your budget, or is that not the case? As you've already found out for yourself, for <$200 you're looking at very cheap overseas machines with very limited features, and many of them come from the same factory, just wearing different clothes. So if I have that right, recommendations on "brands" is not a good use of anyone's time IMO; they're all gonna be very very very similar at that price point. Once you get into the $600+ range, then you start to get more features. Don't worry, you won't get "shamed" as I think most people here are into giving genuine advice, from their own perspective of course.

The smallest tank I've seen is coincidentally the most expensive; as a beginner you're waste so much doing short tacks/beads, you'll use up a tiny tank in one weekend. Then when you go to your welding gas supplier you're gonna find out it would have been much more economical to get a larger one in the first place.
nelson

Thanks Oscar,