Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
highdezman
    Fri Jan 15, 2010 1:28 am

This weld was performed before i got my welder and i saw a tig weave done on steel and it looks like the same technique was used here, but how do you go about it? One more thing is there any benifit to this type of weld?Thanks
g234me
    Sun Jan 17, 2010 6:56 am

I'm thinking (which is dangerous) that the torch is moved left to right and slightly forward adding filler when torch is to either side. Helps when you need wider bead.

Martin
highdezman

It would be nice if jody would do a vid showing how this is done or just chime in. :D
brian
    Sat Oct 03, 2009 10:11 pm

It looks like a spoolgun weld to me.
highdezman

Im very new to tig welding but this is my attempt to try and copy this weld :roll:
    Fri Feb 12, 2010 10:48 am

That it is a TIG weld after looking at it better, but you do get cleaning action like that from the spoolgun welding being welded in the DCEP and that being the side that provides the cleaning(cathodic etching).
Last edited by jpence38 on Sat Feb 13, 2010 6:15 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Jim
Pipefitter/Weldor out of Local 396
Millermatic 252
Dynasty 200DX
Maxstar 150 STL
Spoolmate 100
Hypertherm Powermax 85
Miller Digital Elite
JD2 Model 32 Bender
Emerson 7120 Horizontal/Vertical Bandsaw
Oxy-Gas Torch outfit
Generac XP8000E Generator
g234me
    Sun Jan 17, 2010 6:56 am

there is no way that was done with a spool gun. you can see where the a/c arc, from the tig torch, cleaned the aluminum oxide on both sides of the bead. the reason highdezman's practice weld doesn't look more like it it cause his puddle was a little hot and it all flowed together. To be sure though I will ask jody to look at this post on monday if he comes to work. (it's Presidents Day)