Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
jc.considine
    Thu Apr 15, 2010 12:02 pm

I'm a newb but I've done a couple of projects, like a full aluminium 'cage' roof rack for my 4WD.

Whenever I weld mild steel the arc is so bright when I start that I get a patch in the middle of my vision which is hard to see through (which makes it difficult to judge the arc position/length after that!). I don't get the problem when I weld ally though.

I know I'm doing something wrong.

My setup is: pure argon, 2% thoriated 1/16" tungsten, gas lens, water cooled #20 torch, 60 amps dcen. My welder is an inverter with HF start and I usually start my arcs at about 1/8" off the material. My auto darkening helmet is set at DIN 13.

The 1" x 1/16" wall tube steel I'm working with at at the moment is what we call 'black' steel over here (Australia), it comes with a coating of oil and that's it (though I got the same issue when i was working with galvanised tube that I'd ground back when I was building the balustrading for my kids tree house). My prep for the black steel is to degrease it with a hydrocarbon solvent, wire brush the weld area with a stainless steel brush that's only used for mild steel, give the area a wipe with acetone, then finally hit it with a butane torch to combust anything that's left, and preheat a little.

anyone got any ideas?

Thanks,

JC
ogorir
    Tue Feb 23, 2010 9:04 pm

off the cuff, I'd say that your autodarkening helmet's sensitivity is set too low. welding aluminum uses more amperage and therefore has a brighter arc, so it should trigger the lens. I've had a problem similar to yours switching from welding 16ga aluminum @ 90A to welding 22ga steel @ 30A. I bumped the sensitivity down for the aluminum, and when i switched to steel, the arc wasn't bright enough to trigger the dark shade.