Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
makgreens
    Wed May 28, 2014 12:08 pm

I recently got a 200dx off eBay with a Coolmate1 and wp20 torch and have been using it for a few hours just trying to get the hang of the basics and from all I've read people suggest air cooled for lower amps... The thickest I'm welding is 1/4" mild steel right now so I'm not sure if the wp20 is best for my application.

What are the best settings for this thing? I've been toying around with the amps but that's about it because I'm still learning and researching?
    Sun Oct 27, 2013 10:57 pm

I'd sure leave that torch on there. You'll find the air cooled torches get hot too fast and are bigger.

Try the miller online calculator for settings. http://www.millerwelds.com/resources/ca ... ulator.php
It's pretty good up to 1/8" or so.

But watch the filler size they recommend on stuff like 1/4" - their recommendation is a 3/16" filler, which you won't have so the amps they give you are way too high.
Dave J.

Beware of false knowledge; it is more dangerous than ignorance. ~George Bernard Shaw~

Syncro 350
Invertec v250-s
Thermal Arc 161 and 300
MM210
Dialarc
Tried being normal once, didn't take....I think it was a Tuesday.
    Thu Dec 26, 2013 12:41 am

wonder where you're reading this stuff :?:
Last edited by Oscar on Tue Jun 10, 2014 1:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.
RichardH
    Sun Jan 12, 2014 10:45 pm

makgreens wrote:... just trying to get the hang of the basics and from all I've read people suggest air cooled for lower amps...
The logic is a little different than you're interpreting... With lower amps you can get away without water-cooled, but it's only preferred because it's cheaper. If you've got a water-cooled setup, there no reason not to use it all the time.

Cheers,
Richard
Grinding discs... still my #1 consumable!
    Sat Apr 26, 2014 8:42 am

Trade ya... :-)