Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
Xtapolapocetl
    Tue Jul 22, 2014 9:28 pm

I'm new to TIG, I started less than a month ago. I got some aluminum strips to practice on, and so far one thing that happens consistently is that the strips (about 2mm thick) warp every single time I try to put down a string of beads.

The aluminum is most likely 5052. I have 4043 filler rods, at the moment only 3/32" thick. I use 1/16" pure tungsten electrode. I set the current to 55A, A/C. It takes a few seconds to get the pool started, and then it gets really wide really quickly. I try to turn the current down a bit, with varying success (matter of practice, I guess), but by that time, the metal is already bent out of shape.

What is your advice? Should I start at a higher current to get the pool started quicker? Will I need to do short runs with cooling in between? Is this how you normally weld aluminum?
Lincoln Precision TIG 225 w/hand amptrol.
    Thu Dec 26, 2013 12:41 am