Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
Millerismyname
    Tue Mar 18, 2014 11:47 am

image.jpg
image.jpg (42.09 KiB) Viewed 1349 times
image.jpg
image.jpg (40.34 KiB) Viewed 1349 times
I'm hoping some of the business owners can help me out with this question. I've been welding these aluminum tanks for 4 months now and it's a solid acct. The question I have is what would you guys charge for building this tank, the tank is 6061-T6 all around. The top bottom and neck all have to be welded, leveled and then I pressure test each one. All the material comes to me ready to weld aside from wiping down with acetone, it takes me roughly 35-40 min from start to finish. I have a rate that I get paid at the moment but I want to get some perspective from you guys. Thanks for any help
Millermatic 212
Thermal Arc 300gtsw w/ foot pedal
Everlast pp50
Craftsman Professional 60gal
Homemade turntable/air driven
Lg 10000 btu portable ac unit(haha)
Too many other tools to list...
    Thu Jan 24, 2013 10:13 pm

There are two ways you can do it. You can bid them for a given amount and hope to make good money by getting them done faster than quoted or you can do a time and material quote. Since you already have been doing them it would be T&M. I charge $60hr so if it takes you 45 minutes, go with $45 each. Everyone's hourly rate will vary though. May I ask what you are getting for them?
-Jonathan

Edit: looks great by the way!!
Wes917
    Fri Oct 25, 2013 11:45 pm

At 45 mins a pop I'd bid $50 per piece. If an hour I'd bid $65.

Looks good btw.
Millerismyname
    Tue Mar 18, 2014 11:47 am