Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
DSM8
    Thu Aug 28, 2014 5:09 pm

So I have read a lot on this and there are quite a few choices out there.
MY main problem is when the tungsten gets contaminated it will not fit in the hole of my sharpener to make it easy to repoint, wanted to know what other sharpeners people have used.

I have heard about some harbor freight grinder etc that might work for the bulk removal but the biggest problem I have is getting a nice smooth point on the tungsten, depending on what diamond wheel is on the tool dictates the grind and right now it is a little too rough for clean arc starts etc.
    Tue Jan 10, 2012 2:34 am

I grind mine on a bench grinder. I have a wheel for aluminum tungstons and a wheel for steel tungstons. I just spin the tungston with my fingers. I haven't had any issues. I am a new tig welder though but even my aluminum welds look good with this technique.
Everlast 250EX
Everlast I-Mig275 w/ Alum Spool Gun
Everlast Plasma60
Everlast 300 Water Cooler
    Tue Aug 19, 2014 2:34 am

I have an old electric chainsaw sharpener with a fairly fine wheel. Not sure the type of abrasive. I just chuck my tungsten in a drill and grind against the side of the saw sharpener wheel.. works ok for me. :geek:
We are not lawyers nor physicians, but welders do it in all positions!

Miller Dynasty 280DX
Lincoln 210 MP
Miller 625 X-Treme
Hobart Handler 150
Victor Oxygen-acetylene torch
Miller/Lincoln Big 40-SA200 hybrid
Adam's Got Skills
    Sun Aug 10, 2014 3:32 pm