Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
alloy
    Sat Nov 01, 2014 5:42 pm

Hello everyone. New here.

I picked up a Everlast 200DX about a week ago. I'm a machinist and have never really welded much before. The welder was a decent deal at $600 so I thought that tig welding would be a good skill to learn. I know I have hundreds if not thousands of hours ahead of me to get good at this, but I'm willing to put my time in to learn.

My test part is 4130 .100 wall tubing. I'm set at 100 amps max, electrode negative, pre flow at 10, post flow at 15. 3/32" diameter 2% lanthanated tungsten, pulse off.

This is my latest effort. I tried a "N" type motion, my GF's son that's in a welding program told me to use a "C" motion which I used to run the bead in the pic, and a friend told me to try a circular motion and a little more heat. The weld in the pic is with no filler rod.

So how am I doing? Any suggestions would be very welcomed.

Mike
    Mon Dec 06, 2010 1:09 pm

Alloy welcome to the forum.
M J Mauer Andover, Ohio

Linoln A/C 225
Everlast PA 200
    Sat Nov 09, 2013 12:33 pm

Well, for what it's worth I'm going to use your example as an inspiration. I bought the same little welder and I'm still in the crapping up the tungsten stage. :-}

Rick
Believe those who are seeking the truth, doubt those who find it
-Andre Gide
alloy

I have to say I never thought what I've done so far would inspire anyone :-)

I almost instantly cured my dipping the tungsten when I got my Miller auto darkening helmet. No matter ho hard I tried with my old helmet I kept dipping or sticking the tungsten when starting the weld. There was just no way I could flip my old helmet down without moving my arm. I still dip occasionally, but no where near what I was doing.