Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
tripevans
    Wed Nov 26, 2014 10:16 am

Hey guys.....I'm a beginner welder and I'm having some issues with an aluminum box I'm trying to make.
I've got some diamond plate polished aluminum sheet 18 gauge thick....used my brake to form a box and I'm trying to tig weld the open seams and corners.
I have a Miller Syncrowave 200 and Weldcraft WP17 torch with 7 cup, 1/16 2% thoriated tungsten electrode, 4043 filler rod 1/16" thick. Had my max current at 75-80, 100%Argon flow at 15cfh....my balance was at 7
When I practiced on scrap diamond plate I was getting excellent puddle control and laying down some sweet stacks of dimes. Got a nice cleaning zone around the edges and had no issues. However, when I try to weld the edges of the box together I totally suck. I end up melting each edge but can't get one puddle to coalesce. When I try to add filler rod it balls up and doesn't integrate easily into the joint. I tried going way ass down on my current but still can't get a puddle to form in the joint. It occurred to me last night that maybe I should put some backing under the seam since this metal is so thin and melts through easily. Any advice would be greatly appreciated....thank you....I forgot to mention that I cleaned the shit out of the aluminum with acetone
Wes917
    Fri Oct 25, 2013 11:45 pm

I would be using 3/32 tungsten. As for cleaning either wire brush or scotch brite the hell out of it, then acetone the hell out of it. How's your fit up? You shouldn't have to back up the piece with a heat sink, I would back up with a purge but that's just me and not really necessary. What's your torch angle as you travel? 1/16 aluminum wire should melt fairly easily. Pictures would help.
BobH
    Sun Nov 16, 2014 1:10 pm

tripevans,