Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
Douggiie
    Mon Dec 01, 2014 12:20 pm

Hey guys,
I am just starting out on buying my first Tig machine and need a little help in what to buy. I want to be able to do all types of metals with the main types being stainless, aluminum and wrought iron with one machine. I like working around the house on different projects, so I need something that can do a lot of things. I had a meg welder that I got from Harbor Freight and I have nothing good to say about that machine. I need something that can do more and not fall apart after the first project. I have to end this with I have this thing I do with everything I buy and that is to figure out what it can't do first. This bugs my wife and she never buys me anything electronic because I always take it back to get a better one. She just gives me gift cards now and say Happy Birthday or Merry Christmas have fun with what ever you buy. I believe most guys are like me with their tools and what they like, so I hope you guys can help me out in my quest for my first Tig.

Thanks Guys
Artie F. Emm
    Thu Jul 24, 2014 7:53 am

Welcome to the forum!

The ability to weld aluminum means an AC/DC TIG machine is what you're looking for. To start addressing your question, one question you need to answer is "how thick". A 200 amp machine will just get you into 1/4" aluminum.