Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
sschefer
    Wed Aug 18, 2010 7:44 pm

I asked this over in the General area also but thought it was probably pretty well confined to A/C tig welders and this might be a better place to post it. If that's not a good thing to do please let me know and I won't do it again... Dang newbies anyway.... :D

I just got my first TIG Welder. It's a new Lincoln Precision TIG 225 with all the bells and whistle including a add on water cooled torch. Yep, I'm a newbie to TIG but I've been gas, stick and MIG welding as a hobbyist for around 30 years.. And yes, I'm an old fart to boot. I've laid down about 10 practice welds and like what I'm seeing and that theory about learning gas, ... yep, it sure helps.

Anyway, I've got a 50 amp 220v circuit in the shop and last weekend while welding I heard the doorbell ring. I went to check and no one was at the door. On the way back to the shop I noticed the sprinklers had been on. I fired up the torch again and heard both the doorbell ringing and saw the sprinklers come on. It doesn't do it in DCEN, only in A/C. I'm speculating that it's the HF with the A/C and the wire is radiating it all over the wiring on it's way to ground.

The subpanel feeds the lights, pool filter pumps and one 20amp duplex outlet. Only the shop lights were on at the time. The pool pumps are frame grounded to a grounding rod that is separate from the rest of the wiring, (until it hits earth). The welder is grounded to the subpanel at the ground bus bar and the neutrals are isolated. Theres an old drill press that was plugged in to the duplex outlet at the time and it's about 5 feet from the welder. My welding table is not grounded and is on rubber casters.

I'm thinking I should run a separate ground from the ground rod that the pool pumps are on and tie the welder and the table into it via a buss bar.