Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
Joe
  • Joe
    Tue Jul 27, 2010 7:52 pm

I am practicing my TIG welding a little each day. I'm beginning to get used to the torch and machine. I am getting holes in my practice welds and I'm sure one of you guys can tell me what I'm doing or not doing. I'm just welding on mild steel at around 80 amps with a 3/32" 1.5% lanthanated tungsten that has been tapered on an 8" bench grinder. The machine I'm using is an everlast inverter powerpro 205 using DC, switch on 2T, ground is +. I think that the bead on the flat bar was just done without trying to add any rod. The edge weld was me trying to add E70S2 rod. This is my first attempt to get pictures to the forum, so bear with me if they don't work.
joe
Attachments
edge.JPG
edge.JPG (95.07 KiB) Viewed 1306 times
flat.JPG
flat.JPG (91.63 KiB) Viewed 1306 times
gurew
    Thu May 06, 2010 2:54 pm

contamination

which can come from 2 things pretty much...

1 the metal is dirty (clearly looks as though you didnt clean the metal....your steel prep should be shiny silverish in color..esp on hot rolled steel...so prep it so its shiny :)

2) gas...either not enough gas flow OR!!! way too much for the gas cup/lens size (can suck bad air in the argon flow)

my guess is that if you prep your metal those issues will go away :)
Joe
  • Joe

okay, I'll clean things up and try again.
Anybody know of any tables giving gas flow versus cup size? I was using a #7 cup and gas flow was set for about 10lph. The everlast flow meters are in liters.
thanks.
Gary
  • Gary
    Sat Jul 17, 2010 5:24 pm

Joe ,
cut your gas down to between 5 and 7 lph 10 is getting too high and might be getting blown away with too much flow.