Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
d.smith
    Wed Mar 18, 2015 11:14 am

I know that inconel isn't a very cheap metal to just go out and grab to do a video, but if you came across any scrap it would be very helpful to see how you work with it.

My case is that I work in a shop that runs furnaces and coats jet engine parts and a lot of the stuff I weld on is contaminated from being infused with other metals or powders. I have to repari powder pans that are made out of inco600, but are infused with aluminum and have powder in them as well. I'd like to see your take on welding metals with this kind of contamination.

Most of the metal I work with is inco 600 and RA330. all of it gets heated in cooled up to 2000º F
    Sat Jul 06, 2013 11:16 am
    Near Pittsburgh,Pennsylvania. Steel Buckle of the Rust Belt

d.smith,
I know that the Inconel can suffer from liquid metal embrittlement and would guess that the RA330 would also. Here's a link to the welding recomendations for the RA330. http://www.rolledalloys.com/dotAsset/89 ... a65e14.pdf Near the end it gives repair weld recomendations.

It might be helpful if we knew what procedure you're using to make the repairs, as in GTAW, SMAW or GMAW.

Len

@Otto Nobedder,
Maybe we can find somewhere this will get more exposure. Thanks.
Now go melt something.
Instagram @lenny_gforce

Len
    Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:40 pm

Braehill wrote: @Otto Nobedder,
Maybe we can find somewhere this will get more exposure. Thanks.
I'll be happy to, once I know the process involved.

Steve S
    Sat Jul 06, 2013 11:16 am
    Near Pittsburgh,Pennsylvania. Steel Buckle of the Rust Belt

Thanks

Len

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Now go melt something.
Instagram @lenny_gforce

Len
d.smith

I mostly make repairs using GTAW, I have a miller syncrowave 250 and a miller passport plus, so I have access to all processes.
    Thu Jan 24, 2013 10:13 pm