Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
sschefer
    Wed Aug 18, 2010 7:44 pm

This is a hobby for me but I have a couple of big projects in the loop and I've got to get a handle on TIG. I recently ran into a problem that drove me nuts. Because I'm new to this it was only by accident that I found that I was using an inferior tungsten and had a leaky flow gauge.

So if I'm looking for Tungstens, who can I trust? The same goes for gauges, torches, etc.

I know that you can't buy skillsets but I've always felt that reducing the frustration levels make learning eaiser and that's my goal

Can anyone help this newbie out.

I did buy a 3 pack of TIG fingers and a T shirt.. The TIG fingers are great, I can now wear the Tillman TIG gloves without cooking my fingers. If there is anything wrong with them it's that you have to remember that just because you hand's not cooked you can't grab the hot metal with those thin gloves. The T shirt... well, it's just plain cool.
Highly skilled at turning expensive pieces of metal into useless but recyclable crap..
    Fri Feb 12, 2010 10:48 am

Weldcraft torches and tungsten. Harris or Victor flowmeters
Jim
Pipefitter/Weldor out of Local 396
Millermatic 252
Dynasty 200DX
Maxstar 150 STL
Spoolmate 100
Hypertherm Powermax 85
Miller Digital Elite
JD2 Model 32 Bender
Emerson 7120 Horizontal/Vertical Bandsaw
Oxy-Gas Torch outfit
Generac XP8000E Generator
sschefer