Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
Tygrys
    Fri Oct 15, 2010 1:58 pm

Can we all agree on which tungstens are best for which applications? I can look online and find sites that are saying the exact opposite of each other regarding this. Which polarities to use and for which metals are all over the map. I am a welding instructor and it is frustrating having to tell people that no matter what someone tells you that the opposite is often being taught somewhere else. Can we get some consensus here?

For that matter, and Jody this is where your site could really help, could we put together a list of things that we all have to agree on? There are so many ways to skin this welding cat but there are certain undeniable truths that all of the personal techniques are built on. It would then be interesting to flesh it out with the variations on things that work for different people. In many cases people will have seemingly mutually exclusive concepts...

Ben
dustelf
    Wed Oct 13, 2010 10:09 am

hey, good idea , this is what i know and tried till now.

95% of welds on stainless 304 or 316.

gray(ceriated)=used to love them till i stumbled acros lanth
blueish(lanthaneted)=this is the good stuff.
red(thoriated)= radioactive krap, why use it when not radioactive better tungsten is available????
(green(pure)=krap, on inverter at least, never tried on transformer. based on my few encunters with aluminium)*

what's with the polarities? can't switch pols with Tig.
sschefer
    Wed Aug 18, 2010 7:44 pm

Hi Ben, I'm relatively new to TIG but not welding and I understand what you are going through. Probably the most difficult thing to deal with in your position is the credibility of your teachings.