Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
racepak
    Tue Nov 23, 2010 7:47 pm

hello everyone,
first i want to thank Jody for all the videos and his effort to make us all better welders :)

my name is moshe galimidi
i'm from israel and i have been welding for a few years now, i started at home with a cheap stick welder than moved up to a mig and now i do dc tig only,

i decided i want a better/real/AC tig welder, my currant machine is a lincoln invertec 155s. with a gas valve on the torch. :( and no post flow since i need to pull the torch to stop the arc.

i want to weld aluminum and improve my dc welding which i'm limited in because of my machine.

my new requierments are:
ac
foot pedal
fadeout?
pulse
1 phase

i was looking at the Everlast PowerTig 250EX and it seems like a nice unit and it atracts me the most because of its price tag VS all the others miller/linco

i also looked at the PowerPro 226 which is even more atractive since it has a plasma cutter,
but i dont know if i will lose any of the welding options since its a multi purpose machine.

please help me decide,

thanks
Rugar
    Thu Jun 17, 2010 11:40 pm

I have a 250EX and I love it so far.
Think you meant 256? Not 226?
Welding options are supposed to be the exact same. But from what I hear its gets to be a real pain changing back and forth from TIG to Plasma, especially when using both on the same job where you need to change back and forth every few Min's.
Best solution would be a 250EX and a separate Plasma. I have both.
Millermatic 251
Spectrum 300 Plasma
Everlast PowerTig 250EX
Everlast PowerCool W300
Harris/Victor OA
Craftsman 13 Speed Drill Press
ProTools Air/Hydraulic Bender
48" Brake
Compressor, Notchers, Grinders, etc.
WILD BILL
    Thu Oct 07, 2010 8:03 pm

I agree. I have the 225 LX and it wasn't till I got to playing with it that I realized it wont pulse as fast as the the EX.