Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
BigD
    Thu Jan 07, 2016 1:56 pm

Hi guys!

I'm new to TIG and I've been getting a few hours a day practice for the past few weeks, and progress has been good thanks to Jody's videos. I've already done a few practical projects which turned out well, including out of position stuff, working the pedal with my knee and such.

Anyway, I don't have a torch switch and with my machine's 4T settings I'd like to get one for doing some DOM tubing work that may require me to be upside down... I saw Miller has the RCCS-14 but it seems a bit ridiculous to pay 220 bucks for a switch, some wire and a connector. Before I go make my own from ebay parts, does anyone have one they can suggest that's reasonably priced and will work with the 14 pin miller connection? Just a simple paddle deal is all I'm looking for.

Thanks in advance!
    Sat Mar 08, 2014 10:39 pm

I just made my own for my Dynasty 200.

I picked up a 14-pin amphenol connector from SSC Controls, a momentary switch from my local welding supply store, and 20 feet of white and also black copper stranded automotive wire.

You solder the white wire to pinout A and solder the black wire to pinout B, and you have a switch.

SSC Controls - 10041-20 Plug and 10041-C12 Clamp (for Miller 14-Pin)

BigD

Thanks for the diagram, that's what I ended up doing. Works great, esp with around 2s of downslope to reposition. All for 40 bucks.

Tom Osselton
    Sat Aug 15, 2015 12:33 am

Nice to know but a little late I bought Millers thumbwheel type last August for those awkward footpedal positions.
BigD