Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
adrynalinjunkie
    Fri Jan 09, 2015 11:26 pm

Going to weld in a parachute bar in my "street outlaws" Turbo charged CHevelle... Lol

Anyone used this E80S-D2 on 4130 ? How does it weld?

So far I have read NOT to use 4130 rod unless you are heat treating the part afterward...

This is the best info I have found below..

A. Although there are several good filler materials, ER80S-D2, is one you should consider. This filler material is capable of producing welds that approximate the strength of 4130. ER70S-2 is an acceptable alternative to ER80S-D2, as is ER70S-6, although the weld strength will be slightly lower
    Sat Aug 01, 2015 8:38 am

Hey there.

I'm no expert, but I believe if you search you'll find Jody recommends ER70S-2 for 4130 CroMo.

Cheers,

Kym
rake
    Mon Sep 17, 2012 7:19 pm

What's your wall thickness on the 4130?
You may need to normalize it after welding.

A buddy of mine did a lot of circle track roll cages out of 4130 and he swore by ER100S-1
    Sat Aug 01, 2015 8:38 am

Here's that video of Jody's:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Is47-VwkyNg

Kym
    Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:40 pm

The EAA (Experimental Aircraft Assn.) recommends E80 rod for 4130 in airframes (and, yes, guys, I finally found my library of EAA stuff), so I don't think you'll go wrong with E80S-2 for a 'chute attachment.

Steve S
    Sun Sep 22, 2013 10:14 am

NORMALIZE!! Voodoo myth unless you have a BIG oven.
Everlast 250EX
Miller 250 syncrowave
Sharp LMV Vertical Mill
Takisawa TSL-800-D Lathe
Coupla Bandsaws,Grinders,surface grinder,tool/cutter grinder
and more stuff than I deserve(Thanks Significant Other)
    Sat Mar 08, 2014 10:39 pm

Here's a good read on the subject. Also, here is the webpage from Welding Tips & Tricks for the video Kym posted above.
AFR_Autoworks
    Mon Nov 30, 2015 2:35 am