Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
rprecision
    Thu May 05, 2016 9:47 pm

I am brand new to TIG Welding and have never even pushed a pedal!

For years I have always had a interest in TIG welding and have had numerous small projects over the years it would have been perfect for. The problem was and is, cost! The idea of a $4k machine is out of reach. I have put it off for too long getting by with a crappy MIG!

Jody's videos and others have encouraged me to give it a shot.

I know there is great debate over transformer vs inverter vs import vs domestic. Got it, read it and understand it.

I have chased craigslist 6-8months) and either find a 3 phase refrigerator sized machines from the 60's or newer machines with showroom prices.

Here's the deal, I have a $1700 max budget to get a machine that will do the following:

-can weld alum and steel from razor blade (.050"ish) to 1/4" I am fine doing multi pass to get to thicker materials which is rare. (AC/DC 200 ish amps)

-stick weld

-good adjustments for a novice / home machine shop / ranch etc

-35% Duty cycle or better

-Air cooled torch, I cant justify a water cooled torch.

-be something I wont outgrow in less than 3 years

-reliable for my use (Not a job shop)

-Prefer a portable machine, dual voltage is not a must but a handy idea. I have 220 @ 40 amp service readily available.

I have looked very hard at the Everlast 200DV, 210EXT and 250EX. I considered the Hobart TIG but it misses by a long shot. Lincoln and Miller are out of reach. HTP seems like a decent machine but also a bit out of budget. ESAB Rebel is DC only and misses the mark. AHP seems like way to much of a risk and falls under the Harbor Freight rule (If it plugs in or has moving parts don't buy it!)