mig and flux core tips and techniques, equipment, filler metal
azbird
    Sat Sep 03, 2016 4:27 pm

I'm getting some mig welding equipment and I'm not sure what size tank to get. I'm a beginner, will be welding steel using mostly .030 wire. The welder won't see everyday use, but I don't want to run out of gas too quick either. I haven't found advice on what size tank to get when starting out. 20 seems small and 80 seems like it might be overkill. Any advice is appreciated.
Poland308
    Thu Sep 10, 2015 8:45 pm

I have a 125 cf tank I use on my Lincoln 210mp. I have gone through the small roll of wire it came with. Think it was a 1 or 2 lb roll. As well I have used up a 10 lb roll of .023 wire. My tank is about half full.
I have more questions than answers

Josh
Artie F. Emm
    Thu Jul 24, 2014 7:53 am

A lot depends on your tolerance for either spending money to buy a cylinder or spending money to rent/lease the bottle. A lot also depends on how the welding supply places in your area operate: it varies by region and you'll need to find out how things are done in your area.

You'll likely find that the 80 cf size is the minimum you'll need. Around here (Wash DC Metro) 80 cf is a customer-owned bottle, not a rental. In some places the 125 cf is a customer-owned bottle.

To widen your options you might consider co2 as your shielding gas. It's cheaper and works better on thicker steel, and may be an option for you if the buy/rent options are favorable.
Dave
aka "RTFM"
    Sat Jul 06, 2013 11:16 am
    Near Pittsburgh,Pennsylvania. Steel Buckle of the Rust Belt

azbird,
Welcome to the forum.