It is currently Thu Aug 24, 2017 6:32 am Advanced search

Any way to fix this problem

mig and flux core tips and techniques, equipment, filler metal

Any way to fix this problem

Postby Farmwelding » Fri Feb 17, 2017 8:17 pm

So I was doing some self shielded flux core today with my schools Millermatic 130. Doing some butt and lap joints on 1/4" plate. About 3/4 through every bead all of a sudden the breaker would blow and I'd have to go to the panel and flip it back just to get the wire off the joint and then restart. It is 110v and the breaker is 20 amps. Anybody have an issues like this or any advice to fix it. I think I'm going to bring out the 211 and switching polarity to use on 220.
A student now but really want to weld everyday. Want to learn everything about everything. Want to become a knower of all and master of none.
Instagram: @farmwelding
Nick
Farmwelding
Weldmonger
 
Posts: 1240
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2016 11:37 pm
Location: Wisconsin

Re: Any way to fix this problem

Postby Artie F. Emm » Fri Feb 17, 2017 8:30 pm

I wonder if the breaker itself could be failing. Can you test the machine on a different circuit?
Dave
aka "RTFM"
Artie F. Emm
Weldmonger
 
Posts: 586
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2014 7:53 am

Re: Any way to fix this problem

Postby Farmwelding » Fri Feb 17, 2017 8:41 pm

Might try switching to another circuit. If not it will be a good welder of someone has a welding need that can't fit in the shop.
A student now but really want to weld everyday. Want to learn everything about everything. Want to become a knower of all and master of none.
Instagram: @farmwelding
Nick
Farmwelding
Weldmonger
 
Posts: 1240
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2016 11:37 pm
Location: Wisconsin

Re: Any way to fix this problem

Postby ldbtx » Fri Feb 17, 2017 8:52 pm

Yep, breakers can go bad after a while. I had the same problem with my Lincoln SP-135+ at a place I used to live. 20 amp breaker would keep blowing after a very short time. Put in a new breaker and all was well.
Miller Bobcat 225
Tweco Fabricator 211i
AHP AlphaTIG 200x
Lincoln SP-135+
Hypertherm Powermax 30 Air
ProStar O/A torch
User avatar
ldbtx
Ace
 
Posts: 391
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 12:54 am
Location: North Central Texas

Re: Any way to fix this problem

Postby Farmwelding » Fri Feb 17, 2017 8:55 pm

As simple as it sounds to just switch out the breaker, it is not. Since it is my schools, we have to have a specific overpriced electrical company come in and do it after like two weeks of quotes and taking and then finally working and the $5 fix now costs $100. So probably the best thing is to just use the 220 volt machine of that is the problem.
A student now but really want to weld everyday. Want to learn everything about everything. Want to become a knower of all and master of none.
Instagram: @farmwelding
Nick
Farmwelding
Weldmonger
 
Posts: 1240
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2016 11:37 pm
Location: Wisconsin

Re: Any way to fix this problem

Postby MinnesotaDave » Fri Feb 17, 2017 9:01 pm

Those pull 20 amps welding at 90 amps output at 20% duty cycle (2 minutes per 10min period)

From there, amps drawn goes up, and duty cycle goes down even farther.
10-15% duty cycle and pulling around 30 amps.

My brother had a mm130 briefly - overheat and popping breakers when pushed too hard.

I'd imagine you're overworking it trying to weld 1/4" material.
They are really just 1/8" machines for the most part.

image.png
Specs
image.png (216.96 KiB) Viewed 490 times


image.png
Material
image.png (238.09 KiB) Viewed 490 times
Dave J.

Beware of false knowledge; it is more dangerous than ignorance. ~George Bernard Shaw~

Airco 300 - Syncro 350
Invertec v250-s
Thermal Arc 161 and 300
MM210
Dialarc
Tried being normal once, didn't take....I think it was a Tuesday.
User avatar
MinnesotaDave
Weldmonger
 
Posts: 1517
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2013 10:57 pm
Location: Bemidji MN, U.S.A.

Re: Any way to fix this problem

Postby homeboy » Fri Feb 17, 2017 9:17 pm

I have had breakers get weak and pop prematurely. Are you sure the circuit is dedicated with no other parasitic load? If you check the wires with a digital clamp meter at the panel and the draw is within spec. may be the breaker. If the draw is high could there be a problem in the wire--plug --welder --loose connection etc. I don't profess to be real savvy on electrical but I have muddled my way thru a few issues and I'm still standing! Good luck . :ugeek:
homeboy
Guide
 
Posts: 164
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2016 11:52 pm

Re: Any way to fix this problem

Postby Farmwelding » Fri Feb 17, 2017 9:50 pm

You are probably right Dave. The settings o was using for 1/4" were the same for 1/8" since that is as high as it goes which is the whole 130 amps or should be. I just like to use 1/4" to take the heat better and to use later to fill in more easily than 1/8" and I was trying some vertical up which I have burnt through on 1/8" before.
A student now but really want to weld everyday. Want to learn everything about everything. Want to become a knower of all and master of none.
Instagram: @farmwelding
Nick
Farmwelding
Weldmonger
 
Posts: 1240
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2016 11:37 pm
Location: Wisconsin

Re: Any way to fix this problem

Postby Otto Nobedder » Sat Feb 18, 2017 7:10 pm

Sadly, that's the nature of circuit breakers. With fuses, simply change the fuse and it's as good as new. When a breaker trips under load, there's an arc between the contacts, which naturally leaves arc-scores on the contacts. When you reset the breaker, these scores are in the current path, creating resistance. Repeated tripping of a breaker under load can de-rate it significantly.

Using a breaker as a switch on an inductive load can do the same thing. We use the breaker as the shut-off switch for our 15HP compressor (the disconnect is outside in the compressor cage). I have a label next to that breaker that says, "Do NOT shut off while compressor is running", for that reason. Those breakers are about $300 each, and I despise changing them. I have to shut down the entire shop's three-phase power to do it.

Steve S
User avatar
Otto Nobedder
Weldmonger
 
Posts: 8364
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:40 pm
Location: Near New Orleans

Re: Any way to fix this problem

Postby Farmwelding » Mon Feb 20, 2017 11:06 am

Switched it over to the 211 this morning and worked beautifully but sure as heck, no nut to hold the spool on. Just improvised with a spring clamp. I have to say-that 211 kicks butt against the 130. Love to change the breaker but as I said earlier-two weeks and a hundred bucks later we might have a new breaker that will last for a little while.
A student now but really want to weld everyday. Want to learn everything about everything. Want to become a knower of all and master of none.
Instagram: @farmwelding
Nick
Farmwelding
Weldmonger
 
Posts: 1240
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2016 11:37 pm
Location: Wisconsin

Next

Return to Mig and Flux Core - gas metal arc welding & flux cored arc welding