mig and flux core tips and techniques, equipment, filler metal
Mike2076
    Thu Mar 16, 2017 11:26 pm

I'm new to welding, trying to learn anyway, and have been trying to practice vertical uphill welding using Ultracore HD-M 1/16 flux-cored wire with 75/25 gas. Using the Lincoln recommended settings for the wire, the weld ends up drooping or simply melting off and causing some nice fireworks on my table. (As another thread by another user described.)
Problem is, the machines are all so old and the information is worn off so there's no way of telling what any of them are aside from being Millers. The displays for amps and such are also broken, so you basically have to set the voltage and wire speed and hope the machines are calibrated properly. :?

I'm running around 20 wire, 23 volts(assuming the dials are atleast accurate on the provided machine :roll: ) and pointing the gun slightly upwards as described in the 3g plate test video(which is for .45 wire, but I assume that's at least common in both).

If the weld is still sagging and melting off, is that an issue with the mentioned settings? Too much heat or wire?
And what is the best method for actually laying the weld? I was basically trying to follow the video, using slight weaves and stopping on the sides for half a second, but again that's for .45 flux and from what I've read that's a bit more forgiving and easy to work with.

As I mentioned in my new user post, the guys I work with are less than helpful so I'm hoping someone here can point me in the right direction. My apologies for not being able to provide very much information.

Video I was referring to is "3G Vertical Flux Core Welding Test – Vertical Uphill Weld Test"
Farmwelding
    Thu Mar 10, 2016 11:37 pm

If you're welds is sagging maybe try to go across the middle a little faster. Do you have any pictures to show us.