It is currently Mon May 22, 2017 3:22 pm Advanced search

Angle iron miter mig welding

mig and flux core tips and techniques, equipment, filler metal

Angle iron miter mig welding

Postby Josh MacD » Wed Apr 26, 2017 1:30 pm

I'm a new welder but I have a project I'm working towards. I want to use angle iron and steel mesh to create some gabion structures. I plan to use 1.5 x 1.5 x 1/8th inch angle iron with 3" steel mesh.

When creating 90 degree corners I've seen the miter versus cope debate on this and other forums. With smaller angle iron the coping might be more work than is necessary. But... I'm not sure I can weld the outer 'knife edge' of the miter without either creating a ton of extra grinding work or burning through the edges and making it look like poo. Any suggestions on welding that miter (assuming that's the better joint option)? Oh, and I'll be making an x-y-z joint with a third piece that I plan to weld to the interior of the miter so I don't want a bead crowding my space on the inside of the miter.

Thanks in advance.
Attachments
gabion.jpg
my planned project
gabion.jpg (72.23 KiB) Viewed 291 times
Josh MacD

Re: Angle iron miter mig welding

Postby Louie1961 » Wed Apr 26, 2017 3:26 pm

I have coped all of my recent projects. Coping is a LOT easier if you use a vertical bandsaw: either a portaband in a stand or something like a Harbor Freight 4x6 in the vertical position. Here's some pics of a cart I made for my welder and a small welding table I put together using coped joints. Coping worked out OK for me.

syncrowave 1.jpg
syncrowave 1.jpg (41.96 KiB) Viewed 275 times

syncrowave 2.jpg
syncrowave 2.jpg (42.28 KiB) Viewed 275 times

syncrowave 3.jpg
syncrowave 3.jpg (54.13 KiB) Viewed 275 times

welding table1.jpg
welding table1.jpg (47.44 KiB) Viewed 275 times
Hobart Handler 190
Syncrowave 250
Purox Metalmaster
Louie1961
Ace

Postby Josh MacD » Wed Apr 26, 2017 3:48 pm