mig and flux core tips and techniques, equipment, filler metal
Josh MacD
    Wed Apr 26, 2017 10:57 am

I'm a new welder but I have a project I'm working towards. I want to use angle iron and steel mesh to create some gabion structures. I plan to use 1.5 x 1.5 x 1/8th inch angle iron with 3" steel mesh.

When creating 90 degree corners I've seen the miter versus cope debate on this and other forums. With smaller angle iron the coping might be more work than is necessary. But... I'm not sure I can weld the outer 'knife edge' of the miter without either creating a ton of extra grinding work or burning through the edges and making it look like poo. Any suggestions on welding that miter (assuming that's the better joint option)? Oh, and I'll be making an x-y-z joint with a third piece that I plan to weld to the interior of the miter so I don't want a bead crowding my space on the inside of the miter.

Thanks in advance.
Attachments
my planned project
my planned project
gabion.jpg (72.23 KiB) Viewed 3945 times
Hobbyist MIG welder with 75/25 gas on a Lincoln SP-140 in my garage/workshop/gym/storage space. Very new and still learning.

"Service is the rent you pay for room on this earth" - Shirley Chisholm
    Wed Jan 22, 2014 12:00 am

I have coped all of my recent projects. Coping is a LOT easier if you use a vertical bandsaw: either a portaband in a stand or something like a Harbor Freight 4x6 in the vertical position. Here's some pics of a cart I made for my welder and a small welding table I put together using coped joints. Coping worked out OK for me.
syncrowave 1.jpg
syncrowave 1.jpg (41.96 KiB) Viewed 3929 times
syncrowave 2.jpg
syncrowave 2.jpg (42.28 KiB) Viewed 3929 times
syncrowave 3.jpg
syncrowave 3.jpg (54.13 KiB) Viewed 3929 times
welding table1.jpg
welding table1.jpg (47.44 KiB) Viewed 3929 times
Multimatic 255
Josh MacD