mig and flux core tips and techniques, equipment, filler metal
Sacman
    Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:05 pm

It been a while since I've been on here. I'm a beginner and haven't had much time to practice with the Lincoln weld pak 100 that was given to me. I put some time in today and was wondering how these welds look on 3/16 angle using 0.35 flux core. Also how do I know if there is good penetration? What should I be looking for? Thanks any advice for this newbie is appreciated. Image

ImageiImageImage sorry just realized these didn't post for whatever reason. Thanks again
Poland308
    Thu Sep 10, 2015 8:45 pm

Almost looks like you need to increase your wire feed speed. Have you calculated your feed rate?
I have more questions than answers

Josh
Sacman

Poland308 wrote:Almost looks like you need to increase your wire feed speed. Have you calculated your feed rate?
well nope, wasn't thinking about it. Thanks!!! I thought I had it saved, no dice. Where I can find it on website? first started out today I adjusted according to the inside cover of the machine.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Farmwelding
    Thu Mar 10, 2016 11:37 pm

Sacman wrote:
Poland308 wrote:Almost looks like you need to increase your wire feed speed. Have you calculated your feed rate?
well nope, wasn't thinking about it. Thanks!!! I thought I had it saved, no dice. Where I can find it on website? first started out today I adjusted according to the inside cover of the machine.

You are actually going to have to measure your wire speed. Hold the trigger for 6 seconds. Stop. Measure wire that is out of gun. Multiply by 10-to get ipm of wfs. And instead of cutting the wire, you can just release the drive roll tension and bring the wire back through the gun as to not waste.
A student now but really want to weld everyday. Want to learn everything about everything. Want to become a knower of all and master of none.
Instagram: @farmwelding
Nick
Sacman

Farmwelding wrote:
Sacman wrote: