mig and flux core tips and techniques, equipment, filler metal
StratoGeezer
    Thu Dec 10, 2009 7:09 pm

Hi - I'm just getting started in welding. Specifically I want to build a go kart as a starter project - and once I've developed some skill, I may move on to building a hot rod eventually. I've been advised to start with a Hobart 140 MIG welder - which I believe can weld with our without gas. I've heard that using the gas is the better option, for a cleaner weld.

Does anyone agree or disagree that the Hobart 140 is a good starter unit, and what are your thoughts about adding the gas bottle or skipping that and instead using the flux core wire?

Thanks!!
rod burna
    Sat Dec 05, 2009 1:48 pm

Welding with shield gas definatly has its advantages but there are some downsides to consider, first off welding with gas means that you need to have cleaner steel (in my book, not a text book) but at the end of the thing you will have far less cleanup to do, no slag to chip and brush and chip and brush just a little bit of silicon maybe to wire wheel, second when welding with gas you have to be more carful not to have breezes or alot of air moving because that blows away the gas and turns your weld into swiss cheese thats the main advantage of running a flux cored wire you can weld outside. gas also means your going to be spending a little more cash on the outset, you'll have to either buy or rent a bottle and pay to have it filled every time you run it dry (which is usually AFTER valley national closes and you only have like 3 stitches left to run) flux core is also more hazordous i bet a buffalo nickle someone will jump my ass here but AWS classifies FCAW (fluxcore) as the process that produces the most harmful fumes followed closely by stick welding so there is that to consider either process is equally effective when done properly but at the end of the day i choose gas welding unless its a project outside or on some really nasty steel