mig and flux core tips and techniques, equipment, filler metal
Josh MacD
    Wed Apr 26, 2017 10:57 am

I have a simple Hobart Handler 120 and I use 75/25 gas for MIG welding. I'm a very new welder and have been learning on some very simple fabrication projects. My wife has a project or 2 for me that might work best in aluminum (I may have to use sheet metal instead). Is it possible to use my set-up to weld aluminum? I tried to search through this forum but didn't see anything other than TIG welding aluminum.

Thanks in advance.
Hobbyist MIG welder with 75/25 gas on a Lincoln SP-140 in my garage/workshop/gym/storage space. Very new and still learning.

"Service is the rent you pay for room on this earth" - Shirley Chisholm
MikeFW
    Thu Aug 24, 2017 11:16 am

FYI I just purchased my first TIG unit to weld 14 gauge aluminum tread plate with.

You definitely can weld Aluminum with MIG. For me anything thinner than 11 gauge was just not working out. I was using a spool gun, which helped with the soft aluminum wire, but bird nesting was still a problem.

You will have to get pure argon. the C25 will not work, my understanding is it has a higher thermal conductivity. Maybe one our the experienced individuals can explain.

Edit --> Just looked up on EBay and they do have a teflon liner for the H-14 for $12 US (I think this is your torch.)
Check the costs of getting the second tank of Argon.
Last edited by MikeFW on Thu Aug 24, 2017 4:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.
    Sat Mar 30, 2013 11:49 am

The short version is yes.

But, you need a bottle of pure Argon

Don't know anything about your machine but the hardest part is to get the wire to feed smoothly if the machine isn't built for aluminium.
The lining in the hose must be in very good condition as well as the neck, to much friction and you will create a bird's nest inside.

The tension must be set carefully, to high and it will flatten the wire, to soft and it will slip causing irregular wire speed.