mig and flux core tips and techniques, equipment, filler metal
OldJoe
    Tue Oct 03, 2017 8:53 pm

Hi. I'm new to welding. I have a Hobart 140 and I'm really enjoying it. One nice thing is I can use my 5.5K generator with it. Is there a flux core Stainless Steel wire in .024/.030/.035 that I could use with my Hobart? I wouldn't be doing anything that big, just stuff around the house. I'd rather have flux core than get another tank of gas, or could I just go with my co2/argon and solid wire? What would my limitations be? Thanks for any help.
Farmwelding
    Thu Mar 10, 2016 11:37 pm

https://shopweldingsupplies.com/product ... gLQn_D_BwE

Don't use hard wire and 75/25. That's where you get rust
A student now but really want to weld everyday. Want to learn everything about everything. Want to become a knower of all and master of none.
Instagram: @farmwelding
Nick
Poland308
    Thu Sep 10, 2015 8:45 pm

[quote="Farmwelding

Don't use hard wire and 75/25. That's where you get rust[/quote]

Are you sure? If so expound please.
I have more questions than answers

Josh
Farmwelding
    Thu Mar 10, 2016 11:37 pm

Poland308 wrote:[quote="Farmwelding

Don't use hard wire and 75/25. That's where you get rust

Are you sure? If so expound please.[/quote]
Maybe I am wrong on that. I know it tried it once but I probably also dunked it which may not have helped.
A student now but really want to weld everyday. Want to learn everything about everything. Want to become a knower of all and master of none.
Instagram: @farmwelding
Nick
cj737
    Thu Sep 29, 2016 8:59 am

OldJoe wrote:Is there a flux core Stainless Steel wire in .024/.030/.035 that I could use with my Hobart?
I think you're confused. I have never heard of stainless wire for MIG that does not require some type of shielding gas. Maybe there is, I certainly could easily be wrong. In my experience, SS wire wants C100 usually for a MIG as a shielding gas.